Home / Product Selection / Gaming / General / Limitations of the data transfer utility
  • Question

    Limitations of the data transfer utility

    • Answer
    • Find out which types of data cannot be transferred using the data transfer utility.

      The following types of data are not transferrable to another PlayStation 3 system using the data transfer utility:

      • Video content that has been downloaded as a rental from Video Store of PlayStation Store (file type: MNV). Once your new PS3 system is set up, you can download this content again by going to the Download List on your PS3 provided that you have not exceeded the time limit for the rental.
      • Any SingStar tracks, or song packs, that have been saved on the PS3 system's hard disk drive. In order to re-download your SingStar content to another system, please contact our customer service department. Full details can be found atuk.playstation.com/contact.
      • Copyright-protected video files (file types: MGV and ETS).
      • Video files that are compatible with the DivX® VOD (Video On Demand) service.

      For the following data types, you must perform some additional steps after completing the data transfer to be able to use the data:

      Application data for Life with PlayStation®

      Download and install the Life with PlayStation application on the destination PS3 system. You can continue to accumulate contribution points for the PlayStation Network ranking system of the Folding@home™ channel.

      GripShift™

      When you start the game for the first time after the data transfer operation, an error message will be displayed and you will not be able to play the game. To play the game, visit Download List on PlayStation Store to download and install the game again at no extra cost provided you have not exceeded the number of systems that can be linked to your PlayStation Network account.

      Saved data for Ghostbusters™ and Ghostbusters™: The Video Game

      The saved game will not be recognized when you start the game for the first time after the data transfer operation. To use the saved data, quit the game, and then start the game again.


    •  
    • View Answer at http://uk.playstation.com/ps3/support/general/detail/linked391089/item432338/Limitations-of-the-data-transfer-utility/
    •  
    •  
    • Not the answer you were looking for?
    •  
    • Click a problem area below for more Gaming solutions
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    • Loading
    •  
ad_holder